Produced by Full Circle Studios

The Kenny Awards will take place on
Saturday, May 12, 2018 at 6:00 pm.

The 2018 Kenny Awards application is available here.

Any high school that produces a musical in Erie, Niagara, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, or Allegany counties is eligible to apply.

Interested directors must submit their completed application by
5:00 pm on Friday, October 13 and participate in an in-person interview with the judging panel at Shea's the following week.

To submit an application or for more information, please contact Holly Grant at or 716-829-1171.

Have you participated in the Kenny Awards in the past? We’re looking for you to share your experiences with our current and future Kenny participants!

Please share any memories you have of your time with the Kenny Awards or let us know how participating in the Kennys or musical theatre in high school helped shape your life! We'll be featuring your comments, photos, and videos throughout the year and at our
25th anniversary ceremony on Saturday, May 12, 2018!

You can send your statements, photos, and/or videos to Holly Grant
at to be included.

Congratulations to all of our 2016 finalists,
nominees and award winners!

Click here for the full list of nominees and winners.

Congratulations to Rachel Kauderer (Clarence High School) and Joseph Russi (Frontier High School)! Check out their experience at the Jimmy Awards last June here.

The Kenny Awards will take place on
Saturday, May 12, 2018 at 6:00 pm.

Click here for a full list of nominees and winners.

Photo by Jim Bush

Congratulations to Grace Auer (Maple Grove High School)
and Ian Hayes (Frontier High School)!
We look forward to following your journey to The Jimmy Awards!

Click here to learn more about this year’s program.

Photo by Jim Bush

Thank you to all of our sponsors and supporters!

Alleyway Theatre
Arts Services Initiative of Western New York
Bagel Jays
Ballroom & Beyond
DC Theatricks
Eclectic Improv Company
Genesee Picture Frame
Main Stage Studios
Niagara University
Paula's Donuts
Rapid Rays
Rich Products
Road Less Traveled Productions
Shakespeare in Delaware Park
Tony Martin Awards
Shea’s staff
Kenny judges
Kenny orchestra
Kenny volunteers
Kenny workshop instructors

Join the conversation!
Share your photos on our Facebook page and tag your tweets & photos with #kennyawards! * *

What began as a 10-minute presentation on the Shea’s stage before the opening night of the Broadway tour of Guys and Dolls has grown into a year-long program which includes performances, numerous awards, theatre workshops and a fully realized ceremony open to the public.

"The Kenny" was created in 1993 in honor of the late Dr. Ken Lipke, the founder of Gibraltar Steel. This award is a testimony to Dr. Lipke’s passion and dedication to the arts and to his belief that the business community is an integral pillar of support for the arts.

Since then, hundreds of outstanding musical productions from local high schools have been recognized and honored by the Kenny Awards. The two student winners of the Outstanding Leading Actor and Actress awards will receive an all-expenses paid trip to New York City in June to participate in the National High School Musical Theatre Awards, aka. The Jimmy Awards. The school that wins The Kenny for "Outstanding Musical Production" receives a $5,000 grant from the Lipke Foundation to support their theatre department. "The Kenny," a crystal trophy commissioned and designed exclusively for the program, is on permanent display at Shea’s and stands as a tribute to the young talent throughout Western New York.

For additional information on the program or to be added to the mailing list,
please contact Holly Grant, Education Coordinator, at
716-829-1171 or at